The South African National Space Agency (SANSA) was established in 2010. Following a period of rapid growth and transition the agency has made significant advancements towards addressing its mandate of deriving greater value from space science and technology for the benefit of South African society.

SANSA actively involved in supporting floods disaster planning and awareness

on . Posted in SANSA Earth Observation News

SANSA is working together with the National Disaster Management Center (NDMC), an entity of the Department of Local Government and Cooperative Governance, in a campaign aimed to create disaster awareness in the five district municipalities; Capricorn District in Limpopo province, Dr Kennet Kaunda District in North West, Alfred Nzo District in Eastern Cape, Ehlanzeni District in Mpumalanga, and Namakwa District in Northern Cape.

image-of-the-week-2018-02-05-World wetlands day

on . Posted in SANSA Earth Observation News

World wetlands day

The Rietvlei Nature reserve is situated 18km from the center of Pretoria and it is 3800 hectares in size. Rietvlei nature reserve was established as a result of the Water Scheme to provide drinking water to the people of Pretoria and it was declared Rietvlei Nature reserve in 1997.

Image downloaded: 01 March 2016.

Image credits:

Produced by SANSA Earth Observation, January 2018.

SPOT6: Airbus Defence & Space.

Dont' miss the latest SANSA updates! FacebookTwitterYoutube